Kakamega County has an enabling environment for tourism attraction with the only tropical rain forest in Kenya and the existence of the famous Wanga kingdom. The county has finalized plans to develop five historic sites to promote eco-tourism culture in the larger western region, with still great opportunity in the hotel industry.

The designated heritage sites are;

  1. Nabongo Heritage Shrine in Matungu subcounty
  2. Misango Hills Heritage property in Khwisero subcounty
  3. Mawe Tatu Hills Heritage Site in Likuyani subcounty
  4. Kambiri Hills Heritage Property in Shinyalu subcounty
  5. Mugai stones and Caves in Malava subcounty
June 16, 2023
Tourism, Business

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *